Wednesday, 16 August 2017

Review: The Other Woman by Eve Rabi

The Other Woman: A Betrayed Wife takes on a Mistress with Scandalous ResultsQuestion: A seductress steals your husband, rips apart your family and shatters your dreams.
You:
a) Wish them luck, and walk away with your head held high (because that’s what society expects you to do)?
b) Quietly seethe, but accept that there is just nothing you can do about it (because it easier for everyone if you do nothing)?
c) Dig up dirt on the bitch (because someone like this would undoubtedly have dirt), use it to sabotage their relationship, then sit back with a glass of Pinot Grigio and watch them burn?
Answer: C. Oh, totally C.

******
Meet Scarlett Smyth. She’s drop-dead gorgeous, has a rocking body and has an above average IQ. She brags that she can ensnare any husband or taken male, and …she often does. She also is ambitious and has a penchant for anything expensive.
When the shrewd and ambitious temptress lays eyes on Bradley Murdoch, she believes she has found her dream man and a ticket to the high life she’s entitled to. There are just two problems:
1) Bradley is married to Rival. Happily at that.
2) They have children. Adorable little girls.
Do those facts deter Scarlett in any way? No, not at all. She is determined to steal Bradley, smoothly replace Rival in his life and show him how to really live life.
In a calculating move, the seductress (she is so good at seduction, she is even penning a book on it) befriends the quiet and unassuming Rival and worms her way into Bradley’s life.
There’s more: To expedite things, Scarlett the mistress, engineers a way to wipe Rival out of the picture - sends the clueless wife on a “vacation”.
But Scarlett may have underestimated her opponent. When Rival realizes the extent of the betrayal, she decides, even though she lacks Scarlett’s genius IQ, not to turn the other cheek. In fact, she is determined to win back her husband, believing that he is a good man who is simply mistaking lust for love. She believes that someone like Scarlett has to have skeletons in her cupboards and she begins to snoop around, anything she can use against the other woman, anything that can help her exact revenge.
What Rival doesn’t realize is: no one crosses Scarlett and gets away with it.
Now, the betrayed wife and the other woman collide. The result is another gripping suspense thriller from best selling author Eve Rabi.

Tuesday, 15 August 2017

Release: Letters to Lincoln by Tracie Podger


Letters to Lincoln by Tracie Podger



Blurb:

What do you do when your husband dies unexpectedly?
You write him a letter, of course.
What do you do when someone answers that letter?

Dani was mid-thirties when she found herself alone and without her soulmate.
Coming to terms with her loss took all her strength and her voice.
If Dani thought she’d experienced the worst life could throw at her, she was wrong.
Lies, deceit, confusion surround her.
A stranger, a builder, and a priest, comfort her.

Letters to Lincoln is a contemporary romance about overcoming loss, finding the strength to rebuild a life, and learning to forgive.

For readers over the age of 18.

Monday, 14 August 2017

Review: Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

Someday, Someday, MaybeA charming and laugh-out-loud novel by Lauren Graham, beloved star of Parenthood and Gilmore Girls, about an aspiring actress trying to make it in mid-nineties New York City.

Franny Banks is a struggling actress in New York City, with just six months left of the three-year deadline she gave herself to succeed. But so far, all she has to show for her efforts is a single line in an ad for ugly Christmas sweaters and a degrading waitressing job. She lives in Brooklyn with two roommates - Jane, her best friend from college, and Dan, a sci-fi writer, who is very definitely not boyfriend material - and is struggling with her feelings for a suspiciously charming guy in her acting class, all while trying to find a hair-product cocktail that actually works.

Meanwhile, she dreams of doing "important" work, but only ever seems to get auditions for dishwashing liquid and peanut butter commercials. It's hard to tell if she'll run out of time or money first, but either way, failure would mean facing the fact that she has absolutely no skills to make it in the real world. Her father wants her to come home and teach, her agent won't call her back, and her classmate Penelope, who seems supportive, might just turn out to be her toughest competition yet.

Someday, Someday, Maybe is a funny and charming debut about finding yourself, finding love, and, most difficult of all, finding an acting job.

Friday, 11 August 2017

Release: Deserved by Victoria Johns

•~•*•~•Victoria Johns - Deserved is OUT NOW!•~•*•~•


Synopsis:
Lacey Talbot had a safe and loving childhood despite being raised in a residential home for kids, and the day she met Charlotte and Oli Hart, it felt like she had been truly blessed. Now training to be qualified in social care, she’s giving back to the system that saved her from a life of danger and poverty.

So why does she feel like she needs more when she has everything she never thought possible? A career, family love and friends who would be there for her no matter what, just don’t seem enough.

Lacey wants a love to call her own, to start living her life for real but there is one thing missing, someone to love - a guy who will return the love that she deserves just as hard.

Tommy Sevens, is the dependable local business owner. He’s never short of female company but his bachelor life is turned upside down by an unexpected visitor. When he reaches out for help, he ends up with more than he bargained for when Lacey comes to the rescue.

What starts out as a professional relationship, turns into so much more when Tommy realizes he can’t resist Lacey anymore. She’s a beautiful, unforeseen surprise who makes him want a different life, despite what he thinks he deserves, and he’s that guy that Lacey has been yearning for. The one thing that stands in the way of their happily ever after are his close friends, Lacey’s foster parents.

Deserved is the second book in the soul mates series and tells the stories of those who find passion and love when they least expect it.  No need to have read the first book.

If you'd like to read book 1, Survivor, click here - getbook.at/vjsurvivor

Get it now - getbook.at/vjdeserved

Stalk Victoria ;-)


Wednesday, 9 August 2017

Blog Tour: Perfect Prey by Helen Fields


Claire's Review

Perfect Prey is the second book in the DI Callanach series. I had read the first book when I read this but it didn't affect my enjoyment.

The story is about DI Callanach and DI Turner. Callanach is called the a festival where a man has been stabbed; Turner is called the another murder where a nurse has been crushed to death.

I found this book dark and intriguing, and fast paced read, full of detail from start to finish including the grotesque murders. 

This is a must read for anyone who reads this genre and I will definitely be grabbing a copy of the first and the next installments!


Tuesday, 8 August 2017

Review: An Idiot in Marriage by David Jester

An Idiot in MarriageKieran McCall’s youth was a series of misguided attempts at love—a succession of sexual failures that always ended in disaster but somehow led to something worthwhile. As an adult, his failures looked like they were behind him. He married the love of his life and they had a child together, but chaos was never far away.

An Idiot in Marriage follows Kieran McCall as he learns to live with the strains of married life and parenthood, from dealing with incompetent babysitters and dirty diapers to neighbors from hell, stray ducks, and a best friend who still thinks with his dick.

Kieran McCall grew up, but he never matured and he never changed. He’s still a little immature, he’s still a little na├»ve, and he’s still massively incompetent. Kieran may be older, but he’s definitely not wiser. And if he doesn’t shape up, he may risk losing it all.

Monday, 7 August 2017

REVIEW: True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop by Annie Darling

True Love at the Lonely Hearts Bookshop (Lonely Hearts Bookshop #2)
It's a truth universally acknowledged that a single woman in possession of a good job, four bossy sisters and a needy cat must also have want of her one true love. Or is it?
Another delightful novel from the author of The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts. Perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Jenny Colgan
Verity Love – Jane Austen fangirl, manager of London’s first romance-only bookshop Happy Ever, and an introvert in a world of extroverts – is perfectly happy on her own (thank you very much), and quite happy hiding in the office and lying to her friends about her fictional boyfriend Peter, whose presence is very useful for getting her out of social events.
But when a case of mistaken identity forces her to introduce a perfect stranger as her boyfriend, Verity’s life suddenly becomes much more complicated.
Because ‘Peter’ is actually Johnny, and he too could use a fictional girlfriend. So against her better judgment and because she can't stand sitting on the sad singles table, Verity and Johnny decide to partner up for a summer season of weddings, big number birthdays and garden parties, culminating in her sister’s Big Fat Wedding.
And by the end of the summer, there’s a bad case of heartache that even Verity’s beloved Pride And Prejudice might not be able to cure…

Thursday, 3 August 2017

Review: Single for the Summer by Mandy Baggot

Single for the Summer: The perfect feel-good romantic comedy set on a Greek islandSingle for the Summer: The perfect feel-good romantic comedy set on a Greek island by Mandy Baggot

Tess Parks has made up her mind: love isn’t for her.

When it comes to dating she has one rule: after six weeks with a guy, she ends it. So when her heartbroken best friend invites her for a girly getaway in Corfu, Tess is sure she can stick to their pact to stay single for the summer.

But then she meets the gorgeous restaurateur Andras...

To keep his overbearing mother off his back, Tess agrees to pretend to date him. But as the two spend time together, Tess begins to realise that this fake relationship is starting to feel like the best one she’s ever had…

Wednesday, 2 August 2017

Release: The Truth About Love Vol III by Anna Bloom

☆.•°☆.•°*°•☆*NEW RELEASE & GIVEAWAY*☆•°*°•.☆°•.☆Anna Bloom's The Truth About Love Vol III is OUT NOW!


Synopsis:
When Eve Harris agrees to give billionaire playboy Cameron Wallis another chance, she didn’t anticipate finding herself in Paris living the dream. The chance to spend time with Cam away from gossip columns and the media is too tempting. But Paris isn’t the fairy-tale she envisaged and all too quickly, Eve realises just how different her and Cam’s lives really are. 

Will Eve be able to overcome her own insecurities and wade through the Truth About Love to get the man and her happily ever after?

Buy it nowbooks2read.com/TAL3
If you'd like to read the first two books in the series links are below:
The Truth About Love Book I - books2read.com/TAL1
The Truth About Love Volume II - books2read.com/TAL2 

GIVEAWAY!  Head on over to Anna's Facebook page to be in with a chance of winning $20 Amazon Gift Card AND full ebooks of the series.

Give Anna a stalk ;-)